evden eve nakliyatsehirlerarasi evden eve nakliyat

Honorary degrees awarded to 11 outstanding personalities


More than 10,000 Université de Montréal students will graduate at several convocation ceremonies held from May 19 to June 23. At each event, the Université de Montréal will present honorary degrees to recognize the societal and professional contributions of notable personalities such as Lise Bacon, Michaëlle Jean and Lino Saputo.

“We will pay homage to these exceptional people who honor the Université de Montréal by awarding them our highest distinction: honorary degrees. Our recipients are wonderful and inspiring role models for our graduates,” says Université de Montréal Rector Luc Vinet.

Most convocation ceremonies will take place at the Ernest-Cormier Auditorium in the Roger-Gaudry Bldg. (2900 Édouard Montpetit Blvd., Montreal). Convocations for the Faculty of Music will unfold at the Salle Claude-Champagne (220 Vincent-d'Indy Ave., Outremont), while HEC Montréal ceremonies will be held at Place des arts (175 Sainte-Catherine St., W. Montreal).

Read on for a complete list of Université de Montréal's honorary degree recipients (short bios available in French):

May 19, 2010, 11 a.m.

  • Qifeng Zhou, President of Peking University

PhD convocation ceremony – May 28, 2010, 2 p.m.

  • Clayton M. Christensen, professor, Harvard Business School
  • Rita Letendre, renowned Canadian artist
  • Lise Bacon, first woman elected leader of a Canadian political party and first woman deputy premier
  • Jean-François Minster, scientific director, Total Petroleum.
  • Her Excellency The Right Honourable Michaëlle Jean, Governor General of Canada

HEC Montréal convocation ceremony – May 30, 2010, 1:30 p.m.

  • Jacques Ménard, chairman of BMO Capital Markets and BMO Nesbitt Burns

School of Optometry convocation ceremony – June 4, 2010 at 3:30 p.m.

  • Brien A. Holden, professor, University of New South Wales in Australia
  • Thomas Freddo, professor and director, University of Waterloo School of Optometry

Faculty of Dentistry convocation ceremony – June 16, 2010 at 4 p.m.

  • Lino Saputo, chairman of the board, Saputo Inc.

Faculty of Arts and Sciences – June 17, 2010 at 7:30 p.m.

  • Roman Jackiw, theoretical physicist and professor, Massachussetts Institute of Technology

On the Web:
For more information on convocations, please consult the Université de Montréal's dedicated site.

Media contact:
Sophie Langlois
Director, media relations
Université de Montréal
Phone: 514-343-7704




Ma thèse en 150 mots

Une fois par semaine, un étudiant de l’UdeM explique en 150 mots ce sur quoi il travail...


Enjeux de société

Une fois par mois, Le Devoir, en collaboration avec Forum, la fenêtre de la recherche à ...